This page has the following sub-pages

Local Council Services

Local Government Overview

There are three tiers of local Government which serve residents in the county of Somerset: Town or Parish Councils, District and .County,

In Milborne Port, the local authorities are: Milborne Port Parish Council, South Somerset District Council, Somerset County Council.

Milborne Port Parish Council:

At the grass roots level are town and parish councils including Milborne Port Parish Council which has 13 Councillors representing the whole Parish. The Parish Council acts as a consultee and lobbying force with both the County and District Councils, putting forward the wishes and needs of the local community.

The list of the Statutory Spending Powers of Parish Councils gives examples of things that Parish Councils can do with legislation that provides the power to act and therefore to spend money on.

Local authorities (County and District) raise their income in a number of different ways. Council Tax makes up 25% of the revenue, Business Rates 24%, 18% is recovered in fees and charges and the remaining 33% comes from central government. Parish Councils receive no money from central government and receive no contribution from the Business Rates.

Milborne Port Parish Council, on behalf of the residents:

  • Owns, manages and maintains the Town Hall.
  • Owns, manages and maintains the Cemetery in Wheathill Lane,
  • Owns, manages and maintains the playing fields at Springfield Road (which are run by a management committee) two children’s play areas at Springfield Road and Gainsborough (there is also a third play area off Prankerds Road, which is owned by South Somerset District Council and a fourth play area adjacent to The Brambles which is maintained by a private management organisation), the skate park at Gainsborough, the allotment gardens at Gainsborough, East Street car park, the Grove Public Garden in Church Street and the Remembrance Garden (aka the Ball Court) off the High Street
  • Provides and maintains public benches, litter bins and dog waste bins (which are then serviced by the District Council)
  • Helps to maintain the village footpaths (This is not the responsibility of the Parish Council but something local volunteers do).
  • Maintains the Clump (Bathwell Lane), Rosemary Street “triangle” and the Community Woodland.
  • Has responsibility for maintenance of the closed Churchyard at St. John’s
  • Considers and gives comments on all planning applications in the parish (the final decision on applications is taken by South Somerset District Council). All planning applications for Milborne Port can be viewed on line here
  • Liaises with South Somerset District Council, Somerset County Council and Somerset Highways on matters of concern relating to the parish

 The Parish Council are provided a yearly budget (Precept) to perform the above activities. This precept is reviewed each year and comes from the Council Tax paid by residents of the parish.  The Precept for year 2019-2020 is £89,174.

South Somerset District Council:

Building Regulations
Car Parks
Concessionary Bus Fares
Council Tax and Council Tax Benefit
Social Housing and Housing Benefit
Economic Development
Food Safety and Hygiene
Local Plans and Planning Applications
Pest Control
Refuse Collection
Sports Centres
Street Cleaning
Trading Standards
Tree Preservation

 Vist South Somerset District Council Website                     

Fly-tipping  report here:

Somerset County Council

Social Services
Fire Brigade
Emergency Planning
Highways and Road Safety
Rights of Way
The Environment, Waste Disposal and Mineral Sites
Libraries and Museums

In Somerset there are four district councils: Mendip, Sedgemoor, South Somerset and West Somerset; and one borough council: Taunton Deane. Visit the Somerset County Council website.